You are not logged in

Company Safety Courses Question

Last post 10-17-2013, 1:18 AM by charlieelectra. 3 replies.
Sort Posts:
  •  02-28-2013, 12:32 PM 4339

zcalvert is not online. Last active: 02-28-2013, 12:57 PM zcalvert

Not Ranked

Joined on 02-28-2013

Posts 1

• Company Safety Courses Question

Howdy,

I am located in West Texas. Most of ya'll know that we are in a pretty good oil boom over here. I am currently a truck inspector for my in-laws small Oilfield transport company. For the last year or two their insurance has required them to have some sort of safety courses taught to the service employees of the company. We have been paying someone from Total Safety in Odessa, TX to do these little classes. They are not certification courses. They seem to be more of a "Let's go over this subject this week." and he reads from a little pamphlet, shows a video, and then gives a test in the back of the pamphlet and is done. Most of the time, they have nothing to do with what we do as a service company i.e. Confined Space, excavation, scaffolding, etc.

Anyways, on to my question.

To do such a simple thing, show a video and give a test, would I have to have any sort of safety certifications myself? I have my OSHA 10, H2S safety, Safeland, AED/CPR, Bloodborne Pathogens, Crane and Rigging, and Forklift Certs.

Pretty much what it comes down to is must a get additional certifications/schooling just to show a video and give some test or am I alright to go ahead and order some DVD's and test of our own.

We don't want to cut corners at all. We are a very serious and legitimate company in our area and we are expanding at an alarming rate. We are just curious if we should be paying someone to be doing something so basic if we could be showing videos and giving test ourselves.

•  08-06-2013, 2:55 PM 4392 in reply to 4339

etrejo is not online. Last active: 08-27-2013, 8:19 AM etrejo

Top 500 Contributor

Joined on 08-03-2013

Posts 3